Certificate students are required to take four courses that comprise twelve credits:

  • "Theory and Method in the Study of Religion" (16:840:501).
  • Students specializing in one of the core areas will take three courses in that area. All other students receive a more general "certificate in religious studies."
  • One course may be taken at another department within Rutgers or at another university.